• info@anavrinadviser.com
  • +91 728 982 2078, 011 44754635

Federal Skilled Trades Program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program is for the applicants who are qualified trade workers and want to migrate to Canada permanently after receiving an offer of employment. The government approves only 3000 applications each year under this visa category. The IRCC considers no more than 100 applications for a particular occupation for processing each year for Category A while there is no Category B cap. There are 43 subdivided occupations in this group into two categories, i.e. category A and Category B.

Skilled work experience eligible for the FSTP falls under the following categories of the National Occupational Classification (NOC):

  • Major Group 72: industrial, electrical and construction trades,
  • Major Group 73: maintenance and equipment operation trades,
  • Major Group 82: supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production,
  • Major Group 92: processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators,
  • Minor Group 632: chefs and cooks, and
  • Minor Group 633: butchers and bakers.

Who is the Federal Skilled Trades Program for?

Qualified, experienced tradespersons from around the world who want to immigrate to Canada.

What are Federal Skilled Trades Program processing times?

Most complete applications are processed within six months.

Federal Skilled Trades Program – Eligibility Criteria

Federal Skilled Trades Program candidates must:

  • have valid job offers of continuous, paid, full-time employment (at least 30 hours a week) from up to two employers in Canada for at least one year OR a certificate of qualification* from a provincial or territorial body;
  • provide proof of basic language proficiency from a designated language testing organization, demonstrating that the applicant meets the minimum threshold set by IRCC — Canadian Level Benchmark (CLB) 5 for speaking and listening, CLB 4 for reading and writing;
  • have obtained 2 years of full-time work experience (or an equal amount of part-time work) in the skilled trade in the five years before applying; and
  • be able to demonstrate the skills and experience and that they have performed the essential duties of the occupation.

*A certificate of qualification proves that a foreign national is qualified to work in a skilled trade occupation in Canada. With a certificate of qualification, applicants prove they have passed a certification exam or met all the requirements to practice their trade in a specific province or territory.

The Federal Skilled Trades Program process

Now that we have an overview of how Express Entry works and how you enter the pool as a candidate under the Federal Skilled Trades Program, let’s look at the process — from determining eligibility, to getting your Permanent Resident (PR) card.

Step 1. Make sure you have at least two years of relevant experience

Step 2. Check that your trade is on the list

Step 3: Ensure you meet other eligibility criteria

Step 4: Submit your Express Entry profile on IRCC's website for free

Step 5: Follow IRCC's Express Entry draws to see if you receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for permanent residence. 

Step 6: Receive an invitation to apply

Step 7: Complete a medical, provide security background checks, and submit an e-application

Step 8: Your e-application is reviewed

Step 9: Receive confirmation of permanent resident status and complete your landing

Step 10: Get your PR card

For more information or to see if you qualify, please make an enquiry with one of our qualified and experienced Migration Consultants.

Request a call back